Mt. Washington Tavern

History

In 1979 an entrepreneurial group of friends set out to create Baltimore’s best original restaurant. The Mt. Washington Tavern quickly became a comfortable neighborhood eatery – a common ground for debate and chatter after a long day and a perfect establishment for those special lunches, dinners and late night dining.

Now in our 30th year, we are known for great homemade food, inventive chefs, bartenders who enjoy a heavy pour, and an atmosphere that makes patrons happy to be in Baltimore.

Our establishment is unique to Baltimore: the prints, paintings, and engravings on our walls were carefully selected to honor our local heritage. Painted by Carol Offutt, the mural on the West wall of the Tavern depicts the old clubhouse that stood at Pimlico Race Course – before it was destroyed by fire in 1966. The chandeliers that hang over the bar date back to 1889; they originally adorned the lobby of the old Gayiety Theatre on East Baltimore St. Even our antique wooden telephone booth is a relic from a famous downtown drugstore. The etched windows between the Front and Raw Bars feature scenes particularly relevant to Baltimore’s rich history.

The Mt. Washington Tavern has been declared a historic landmark. In renovating the interior, designed by Gilman graduate Wil Baukhages and built by Towson High Graduate Doug Fry, we chose the finest raw oak. The bar is made from teak and the milling was hand crafted to our specifications.

With a mouth-watering menu, amazing ambiance and stellar service, The Mt. Washington Tavern was designed with you in mind. So come relax, linger, and enjoy.